Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve waited over a month…

I’ve counted the days…

I tried to be patient…

I CRAVED…

It finally came!  I attended the “CRAVE THE LOOK ONLINE PHOTOSHOP MENTORING” seminar, hosted by Andee Tate.  I had heard the hype… “she’s fantastic, she’s uber-talented, she’ll really teach you a lot…” I read all the reviews, I scoured her blog and portfolio looking at all her gorgeous, creamy photos with (as she calls it) “juicy light”… and it is… juicy, that is!

So the day finally came… my babysitter came to keep the kids occupied so I could really focus on this 4 hour seminar… I had my notepad ready, and as Andee started, I was furiously scribbling notes.  Turns out I didn’t have to worry, she went over everything several times to make sure that everyone really understood what she was doing.  She gave us examples of bold colored photos, soft lights, black & whites, and newborn.

I have to say, I learned a TON!  When we took a 10 minute break halfway through it was all I could do not to pull up Photoshop and try out the new techniques!  But then in the second half, Andee BLEW MY MIND!  I’ve been having focusing and lighting troubles, and she explained her process with both, and especially the lighting just caused me to sit back in my chair amazed.  It seemed so simple… it couldn’t really work, could it?  I couldn’t wait to try!  As she was talking I grabbed my camera and tested it out on one of my daughter’s dolls… yup, worked like a charm!  So simple but so earth shattering to my photography!!!

I’ve been playing with a couple of images, testing out some of the processes she taught us… these are still “rough drafts” for me, I figure in a few weeks when I’m more comfortable with the program I’ll redo these and see what I get then… but I promised that I’d share, so here’s what I’ve got so far.  Let me know what you think and any suggestions you may have!

