Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve often heard that the more you know, the more you realize you don’t know… and this is especially true when it comes to photography!!  I’ve spent the last couple weeks watching online tutorials, reading my owner’s manual, and reading a couple of photography books I have… but getting real world, face-to-face training from an established photographer really opens a lot of doors!

Today I was privileged to have a 6 hour one-on-one mentoring session with the great Jaime Hough of Jaime Hough Photography and I learned SO many techniques, tricks, and just general methods of using my equipment… as well as what equipment I’m lacking!  My hubby will be dismayed to know that list is getting longer by the minute!!

After our session today I was playing around with light… and with monochromatic images… this is what I ended up with… my son was sitting on the livingroom floor in a beam of light from the setting sun, and I set the camera to monochrome mode, used f/5.6, ISO-200, and a shutter speed of 1/400 seconds, and shot at 55mm. I’m pretty happy with this one!

 

