Tags

, , , ,

Friday the 13th may be unlucky for SOME people, but not this girl!!  13 has always been my lucky number… I met my husband on the 13th, and he was born on the 13th.  This 13th turned out to be pretty darn good too!

After days of cyber-stalking the UPS tracking page, my camera was finally delivered.  It’s really here… my first “real” camera… It’s an 18MP Canon 60D with a 18-55mm f/3.5 lens and a 75-300mm f/4 Telephoto Zoom Lens.  I got lots of other toys with it like cleaning supplies, a tripod, a remote, extra batteries, memory cards, etc… it’s like Christmas over here!!

Now, I do have to say that I don’t have the slightest CLUE how to use any of this!  This may be the first time in my entire life where I actually read an owners manual cover to cover!  I started reading the manual right away and comparing it to what I saw on the camera setting screen… this thing has a LOT of settings!  I made myself one promise when I ordered this camera… I would NOT shoot in auto mode.  I would force myself to learn all the ins-and-outs of this equipment and use it properly… easier said than done!

I’ve been obsessed with photography for years, but now having my own children has been the push I’ve needed to make the investment in some equipment and start my learning journey!!  Right out of the box I had to document my sleepy little girl…

Sleepy

I know I have an absolute TON to learn about how to use my new toys, and I am totally looking forward to it!!!!  I’m really thankful I’ve got some good friends that are willing to share their know-how to help me out on this journey… now off to study my owner’s manual!

